Using 1 mouse and keyboard across computers

When working from home I often prefer to us my desktop to my work laptop: faster (i7!), larger screen, etc. However it lacks my work files and access to corpnet (well unless I RAS in, but who wants to do this when you have direct access on your work laptop).

Until recently I was therefore often plugging an extra keyboard, mouse and the VGA cable of my large screen to my laptop: dual screen, comfort of a real keyboard and mouse. Seems almost perfect isn’t it? Well yes, except that I need to have an extra set of keyboard + mouse gathering dust on my desk most of the time, and my laptop is really not that fast so this can be very frustrating at time.

Here comes “Mouse without borders”. This simple free app developed by Microsoft developers on their free time allows you to move your mouse seamlessly across computers are if they were one with multi-screens. Use also one keyboard and even copy-paste computer to computer as if they were the same one. The only thing you need is for all the computers to be on the same network! I love it! Expecially now that I’ve been stuck working at home for 3 days because of snow in the Northwest.

Check it for yourself:

Leave a Reply

